Skip navigation

Home Button Videos Button Blog Button Guidelines Button

Reply
Member
bmoravek
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-22-2011
Accepted Solution

Data plan options

I am looking at buying a new android cell phone to replace my old Nokia.

 

Smart phones mean data plangs - got that - but when I go to slect data plans only one plan is provided for on the "boeing" company plan.   Note:  Accessing the plan says : Welcome eligible Boeing employees, subsidiary employees and retirees!!

 

I see only one data plan offered...DataPro Enterprise 2GB for 4G Smartphones -

The phone is non-blackberry design - it's policy that this type of phone is not authorized to hook up to the Enterprise e-mail server.  No biggie - I rather not pay 2x more for service I can't access....

 

What I would like to select DataPlus 200MB at first and if I use / need more data I could upgrade to the  DataPro 2 GB for smart phones.  Not sure how much true need / usage I will have until I use the hardware for a bit.

 

So is there a bug on the website for that data plan - or is it the only data plan offered (odd because other co-workers have the non-enterprise data plans) - or should I consider going thru my wife's company plan where the discounts are not quite as low - but then I don't have to use the Enterprise solution.

Please use plain text.
Moderator
techmod
Posts: 828
Registered: ‎03-30-2011

Re: Data plan options

Hi bmoravek,

 

Thank you for participating within the AT&T Business Community.  We will need some account information to be able to review what data plans are available for you.  We have sent you a Private Message with instructions on how to send us your information.

--------------------
AT&T Moderator

Visit our Video Library
Follow @ATTBusinessCare on Twitter for additional help.

_______________________________________________________


I am an AT&T employee and the postings on this site are my own and don’t necessarily represent AT&T’s position, strategies or opinions.
Please use plain text.
Member
bmoravek
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-22-2011

Re: Data plan options

Odd - other than using my Company e'mail address the info requested was presented in the thread.

 

Summary: 

 

1) New phone to support after hour problem requests.  Not to be hooked to the company e-mail server.

2) Missing data rate plans - only one was offered for vpn to business network - due to company policy requirements - phone is not acceptable. 

3) Access same area without going thru e-mail link provided by AT&T business - and I see missing data plans.

4) Access to data plans do not require current AT&T account / etc - because I selected new account / phone.

 

Side note: Due to company filters - the java script has errors when accessing website via business link provided by AT&T - however; using public access to same area does not cause java errors.

 

Current status: Not resolved at this time

Please use plain text.
Member
bmoravek
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-22-2011

Re: Data plan options

Problem still not resolved - looks like the data plan is the one used by Corprate provided phones, not the phones paid for by employees.

 

In addition the following errors are received when trying to acquire phone after accessing site

 

User Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 5.1; Trident/4.0; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; .NET CLR 3.0.4506.2152; .NET CLR 3.5.30729; InfoPath.2; .NET4.0C; .NET4.0E; .NET CLR 1.1.4322)

Timestamp: Mon, 24 Oct 2011 22:05:26 UTC

 

 

Message: Unspecified error.

Line: 254

Char: 5

Code: 0

URI: https://www.wireless.att.com/webtrends/scripts/dcs_tag.js

 

 

Message: Automation server can't create object

Line: 2663

Char: 3

Code: 0

URI: https://www.wireless.att.com/business/javascript/jquery/jquery-1.2.3.js

 

 

Message: Object doesn't support this property or method

Line: 18

Char: 37

Code: 0

URI: https://www.wireless.att.com/business/javascript/eventRegistration.js

 

 

Message: Automation server can't create object

Line: 2663

Char: 3

Code: 0

URI: https://www.wireless.att.com/business/javascript/jquery/jquery-1.2.3.js

 

 

Message: Automation server can't create object

Line: 2663

Char: 3

Code: 0

URI: https://www.wireless.att.com/business/javascript/jquery/jquery-1.2.3.js

 

 

Message: Automation server can't create object

Line: 2663

Char: 3

Code: 0

URI: https://www.wireless.att.com/business/javascript/jquery/jquery-1.2.3.js

 

 

Message: Automation server can't create object

Line: 2663

Char: 3

Code: 0

URI: https://www.wireless.att.com/business/javascript/jquery/jquery-1.2.3.js

 

 

Message: Automation server can't create object

Line: 2663

Char: 3

Code: 0

URI: https://www.wireless.att.com/business/javascript/jquery/jquery-1.2.3.js

 

Please use plain text.
Member
bmoravek
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-22-2011

Re: Data plan options

Being board I figured I would try other methods to get the phone data plan - this time I tried to upgrade using my existing Boeing cell phone only number to see what would be there - I can get the phone - but at an additional 100 dollars - but now I can see all of the other data plans.   But these plans have no primer discounts associated with them.  So upgrade my existing primer plan bumps the price of the phone + loss of discount on data plans.

 

These issues looks to be another bug.

 

I just went to CostCo to see what their AT&T deal on the phone would be.  They charge 1/2 the max via the phone line upgrade - or 50 dollars less than the new line activation.     I will have to run the numbers to see if an CostCo deal on the phone over two years saves more money versus the primer plan + higher data package + 150 over the same phone via CostCo with AT&T. 

 

Another option is to buy the phone with no contract - and just add the cheapest data plan I can get....that excel spreadsheet is going to get a work out doing cost / benefit analysis to find the best deal.

 

 

 

 

Please use plain text.
Member
bmoravek
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-22-2011

Re: Data plan options

I am in the process improvement field - so I figure it's always useful to notify companies about possible faults / bugs in their software. 

 

Summary of findings:

 

Nice e-mail response - however; the baseic reply was please don't bother me with bugs in the web ordering process which would result in the customer being over charged by $100 for the phone and be over charged for data rate plans by 100%.

 

 

 

 

Please use plain text.
Coming Soon Live Q&A